2018 Northwest Open Invitational

August 20, 2018 – August 22, 2018 all-day
Wine Valley GC
176 Wine Valley Road
Walla Walla

Deadline for entries:
August 1
Tee times & results
Course Website:
Host professional:
Chris Isaacson, PGA

Tournament Format

Championship – 54 hole stroke play championship. No cut!

Schedule of Events

  • Monday, August 20: Northwest Open Invitational – Round 1
  • Tuesday, August 21: Northwest Open Invitational – Round 2
  • Wednesday, August 22: Northwest Open Invitational – Round 3


The term “eligible player” is defined, for this Championship, as: (1) all Pacific Northwest Section, PGA of America members (except those classified as “F” or “Reserve”); (2) all PNW Section, PGA of America Associates with full Section Playing Privileges; (3) all Amateurs (as defined by the USGA) with current USGA handicap indexes of 8.0 or less.

Host Hotel

Marriott Courtyard – Walla Walla
550 W Rose Street
Walla Walla, WA 99362
Code: “PGA”
Price: $124 (1 King or 2 queens)
Release date: 7/27/2018. Reservations not made by this date may be subject to a higher room price.

Hampton Inn & Suites Walla Walla
1531 Kelly Place
Walla Walla, WA 99362
Group Name: NW OPEN
Price: $99 (1 King or 2 queens)
Release date: 7/30/2018. Reservations not made by this date may be subject to a higher room price
Book online


The Northwest Open is a significant part of Northwest golf history. The list of past champions reads like a who’s who in Pacific Northwest Golf. 16 members of the Pacific Northwest Section’s Hall of Fame are Northwest Open Champions. The early years were dominated by Seattle Golf Club’s Robert Johnstone (who won 6 of the first 10 events) and “Long Jim” Barnes. Barnes, the professional at Tacoma C&GC from 1911 – 1915, won the first two PGA Championships (1916, 1919) in addition to the 1921 U.S. Open and the 1925 British Open! Spokane’s Marvin “Bud” Ward captured six championships over a 22 year span, five as an amateur and his last as a professional. The 54-hole tournament record of 199 was set by PGA Professional Derek Barron in 2015 at Wine Valley GC and tied in 2016 by PGA Professional Brian Thornton (also at Wine Valley GC).

Past News

Past Champions and Results

“*” indicates won as amateur
[table-wrap bordered=”true” striped=”true”]

Year Champion Score View Results
2018 Shane Prante 200 results
2017 Shane Prante 200 results
2016 Brian Thornton 199 results
2015 Derek Barron 199 results
2014 Carl Jonson * 207 results
2013 Shane Prante 202 results
2012 Brandon Kearney 204 results
2011 Corey Prugh 206 results
2010 Brian Thornton 204 results
2009 Mike Schoner 208 results
2008 Rob Clark 206 results
2007 Jeff Coston 200 results
2006 Derek Berg * 86 results

For complete list of Northwest Open champions and courses played, visit the PNW PGA history project site.

[panel type=”info” heading=”Sponsors” footer=”Thank You”]


< Menu | Pacific Northwest PGA